Bytost
Bytost
Druhé město, 2017, 248 pp
Language: Czech
Genre: Literary fiction, Science fiction
ISBN: 9788072274000
Read an excerpt
English
Contacts
E: kahuda@post.cz

In this literary science fiction novel set in the near future, an ageing narrator, with painful memories of past catastrophes, struggles to adjust to life in a new idealistic world.

This cautionary utopian novel, with an almost fairy tale structure, takes place in the late 21st century after an atomic and social apocalypse. In this future, the aim of mankind is to colonise the planets in the solar system. Humanity has found itself living in perfect harmony, unsettled only by disturbing memories from the eldest survivors. The hero of the story is an old man who seeks to help the young, but is consumed by fateful memories that prevent him from believing in the modern dream of universal wealth, cooperation and compassion. The fairy tale is nothing but an illusion.

Praise

“The magic of this book lies in the fact that it never stops surprising. Behind the genre backdrops, we see Kahuda maintain ownership of his craft – the characteristic poetic descriptions of the natural world that alternate between obscure events. From pubs on the outskirts of town or quotes from medical records, they are bizarre and grotesque stories, cruel in their morbidity, while also highly poetic.”

A2

“Kahuda’s text is surprisingly readable, especially for fans of Vonnegut, Lem, Bradbury and other similar classic authors of the genre.”

VašeLiteratura

Language: Czech
Title: Bytost
Place: Brno, Czech Republic
Publisher: Druhé město
Year: 2017
Pages: 248
Genre: Literary fiction, Science fiction